How To Delete Your Facebook Account Permanently

It’s no news that 1 out of every 10 Americans has deleted their Facebook account over privacy concerns. The “why” isn’t farfetched. Facebook’s been accused of controversial operations. These range from WhatsApp linkage and information tracking to compromised data and theft on Facebook.

People can also delete their Facebook accounts to protect their mental health or on account of hate speech. The feeling is somewhat liberating because you don’t have to worry about your privacy and deal with the endless content from the News Feed.

Whatever the reason is, let’s help you delete your Facebook account immediately. We’ll also teach you how to deactivate your account even if you can’t log in. We promise to walk you through the procedures in straightforward steps.

Related: How to post on Facebook

How to Deactivate or Delete Your Facebook Account Even if You Can’t Log in

Rather than a permanent deletion, you might want to ignore the flurry of emotions and deactivate your account. This section will enlighten you on the difference between both options and in what circumstances you should consider either option.

If you wish to take a break from Facebook, either temporarily or permanently, we’ve compiled easy-to-follow steps for deactivating or deleting your account.

Deactivating Facebook

This option allows you to delete your account temporarily and return to Facebook anytime.

When you choose to deactivate your account:

  1. You can reactivate it anytime.
  2. You won’t show up in search results.
  3. Although no one can see your profile, you might remain visible to your friends when they click on Friends.
  4. When logged in and chatting with friends, you can use Messenger since users can search.
  5. Your profile picture is also visible, especially when you chat on Messenger.
  6. Some of your info, such as messages and comments, might still be visible since they’re not stored in your account.
  7. Any Page under your control also gets deactivated.

On the other hand, once you delete your account:

  1. You’ll lose access to your account forever, including photos, videos, and shared links.
  2. Facebook gives a grace period of 30 days to change your mind.
  3. You won’t show up in search results.
  4. Some of your info (such as sent messages) might still be visible since they’re not stored in your account.
  5. You’ll not be able to use Facebook Messenger.
  6. If you use your Facebook details to sign up on sites such as Spotify or Pinterest, you’ll lose access to them. You’ll need to message their customer care to recover your account.
  7. You’ll not be able to retrieve any information, so it’s crucial you backup your data, preferably to Google Drive.
  8. Any Page under your control also gets erased, except you give someone else complete control.

Here’s a perfect example from when a big name joined the party.

Elon Musk, CEO of Tesla, SpaceX, and The Boring Company deleted the official pages of his companies
Elon Musk, CEO of Tesla, SpaceX, and The Boring Company deleted the official pages of his companies. Only community groups represent his companies.

Now that you know their basic differences and consequences. Let’s show you the procedures.

How to temporarily deactivate your Facebook account

  1. Open the Facebook app on your device.
  2. Tap the Menu button on the top right of your Facebook page.Facebook Menu
  3. Scroll downwards and tap Settings.Facebook Settings
  4. Select Personal and Account Information.Personal Account and Information on Facebook
  5. Next, tap the Account Ownership and Control option under Your Facebook Information.
  6. Select the Deactivation and deletion tab.Deactivation and Deletion tab on Facebook
  7. Next, choose Deactivate Account.How to deactivate your Facebook account
  8. Next, tap Continue to Account Deactivation.How to deactivate your Facebook account
  9. Follow the on-screen instructions to deactivate your account. Facebook will ask you to confirm the action through your password.
  10. Enter your password and hit Continue.

Reactivating Facebook

If you’d like to give Facebook another shot, you can reactivate Facebook at any time. Reactivate Facebook by logging back into your device.

Note: You need to have access to your email and mobile number.

Perhaps, you’ve determined to get rid of Facebook; let’s show you how to delete your account permanently.

  1. Open the Facebook app on your device.
  2. Tap the Menu button on the top right of your Facebook page.
  3. Scroll downwards and tap Settings.
  4. Select Personal and Account Information.
  5. Next, tap the Account Ownership and Control option under Your Facebook Information.
  6. Select the Deactivation and Deletion tab.
  7. Next, choose Account Deletion.Account Deletion on Facebook
  8. A warning message will pop up on the next window; hit Delete Account.
  9. Tap Continue to Account Deletion and select Delete Account.

Note: You can also delete your account via your browser by clicking on Help Delete My Account.

That was pretty easy! Facebook will also give you enough time for you to reconsider your decision.

Here’s how to cancel your account deletion:

  1. Log into your Facebook account.
  2. Hit Cancel Deletion.

Note: Facebook will permanently delete your account if you don’t restore it within 30 days.

It doesn’t get obvious when you delete your Facebook account. Facebook won’t inform your friends. At least, until they try to search for your profile, they won’t find it.

How to Delete Your Facebook Account Without Logging In

If you don’t have access to your Facebook account anymore, you can still delete it; prevent your account from falling into the wrong hands.

Follow the steps below:

  1. Launch your smartphone or PC browser.
  2. Search for your Facebook account.
  3. Once discovered, make use of Facebook’s Trusted Friends feature.
  4. Finally, flag the account as fake.

Note: It takes Facebook 90 days from the date of deletion to get rid of your data (profile, posts, photos, video, etc.)

Delete your Facebook Account Permanently Without Waiting For 14 Days

If you’re hell-bent on deleting Facebook and can’t wait any longer, you don’t have to wait 14 days.

Please follow the steps below:

  1. Open the Facebook app on your device.
  2. Tap the Menu button on the top right of your Facebook page.
  3. Scroll downwards and tap Settings.
  4. Next, tap the Account Ownership and Control option below Your Facebook Information.
  5. Tap Deactivation and Deletion.
  6. Next, choose Account Deletion.
  7. Enter your Facebook password.
  8. Next, tap Continue to Account Deletion and select Delete Account.
  9. When the warning appears on the screen, select Permanently Delete Account.
  10. Facebook will inform you that you can reactivate your account if you log in within 14 days. Ignore the message if you want to delete the account permanently.

Related: How to send a friend request on Facebook

Was this article helpful? Please help share it.

Leave a Comment